Subscribe to the newsletter

2011 – Greek Champion

The home advantage means absolutely nothing, at least not when you are Panathinaikos. Same as it did against Barcelona, the “clover” showed Olympiakos as well what it means to be forged in a champion’s mold and won its 9th consecutive Greek championship title in the OAKA by defeating the “reds” with a 3-1 run.

The year began with everyone disputing the course of the team and continued down the same path at least ‘till March. Qualifying to the Euroleague Final Four change things around, Panathinaikos winning the title, its sixth European Championship, gave an emphatic answer to anyone questioning the team. Going into the finals series Panathinaikos was playing with home disadvantage, since it ranked second by the end of the regular season. The “Greens” knew how to get to the trophy and proved it in the court, refraining from pompous words many times over.

The key to winning the 32nd Greek Championship title in the history of the club was the victory in the first game of the finals in SEF. The final score of 70-75 gave an edge to Panathinaikos that had also “stolen” the home advantage from under its opponent. The series went to0-2 at OAKA, but the gap was closed with Olympiakos winning the home game in the third final (76-68). However, the title goes to those who mark three victories and it was Panathinaikos that broke the three-victory mark in the playoffs in an exciting game that was settled in overtime (101-94); and this is even more remarkable given that the “Greens” had already lost Dimitris Diamantidis 1’10’’ into the game due to a sprained ankle. Zeljko Obradovic won the Coach of the Year award, Dimitris Diamantidis was the Grek Championship MVP, as well as Defender of the Year, whereas along with Mike Batiste they were named to the Greek Championship First Team. Panathinaikos saw another of its players make it to individual excellence, as Nick Calathes won the Most Improved Player award.

The lineup of the championship team: Tepic, Maric, Perperoglou, Batiste, Fotsis, Sato, Nicholas, Tsartsaris, Diamantidis, Vougioukas, Calathes, Bogris, Kaimakoglou, Zoumbos, Karamalegos. Coach: Zeljko Obradovic